January 11, 2017

Asian Film Awards: South Korea's 'The Handmaiden' Leads With 6 Nominations

South Korea's The Handmaiden leads the Asian Film Awards nominations, unveiled Wednesday, with six nods, followed by China's I Am Not Madame Bovary and South Korea's Train to Busan, each with five.

The Handmaiden, directed by Park Chan-wook, was nominated for best supporting actress, best newcomer, best screenplay, best editing, best costume design and best production design. But it missed out on nominations in the best film and best director categories.

Chinese director Feng Xiaogang, who won the Golden Horse Award for best director last November, saw his social satire I Am Not Madame Bovary garner best film and best director nominations, as well as nods for best actress for Fan Bingbing, best supporting actor for Dong Chengpeng/Da Peng and best cinematography.

South Korean blockbuster zombie hit Train to Busan also received five nominations, including nods for Gong Yoo for best actor, Ma Dong-seok for best supporting actor, best editing, best costume design and best visual effects.

Overall, 34 films from 12 countries were nominated in 15 categories this year. Among those, 21 films that are from China or are Chinese co-productions were nominated, followed by 20 from South Korea.

The best film category is a race between The Wailing and The Age of Shadows, both from South Korea, Harmonium from Japan, Godspeed from Taiwan and I Am Not Madame Bovary from China.

In addition to Gong Yoo, star of South Korea's Train to Busan, also nominated in the best actor category are Hong Kong veteran actor Michael Hui of Taiwan's Godspeed, Asano Tadanobu of Japan's Harmonium, Fan Wei of China's Mr. No Problem and Taiwanese actor Richie Jen of Hong Kong's Trivisa.

Sharing with Fan Bingbing's nomination in the best actress category is Son Ye-jin of South Korea's The Last Princess, Haru Kuroki of Japan's A Bride for Rip Van Winkle, Kara Wai of Hong Kong's Happiness and Charo Santos-Concio of the Philippines' The Woman Who Left.

The jury will be presided over by Chinese director Jia Zhangke as jury president, while Hong Kong actress Karena Lam has been named the celebrity juror. Taiwanese actor Cheng Jen-shuo is the first student ambassador of the Asian Film Awards Academy.

Marking the 20th anniversary of the handover of Hong Kong to China, the Asian Film Awards will return to Hong Kong after being held in Macau for the past three years. The awards ceremony will be held at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre on March 21.

Asian Film Awards Nominations:

Best Film
The Wailing (South Korea)
The Age of Shadows (South Korea)
Harmonium (Japan)
Godspeed (Taiwan)
I Am Not Madame Bovary (China)

Best Director
Na Hong-jin, The Wailing
Koji Fukada, Harmonium
Derek Tsang, Soul Mate
Feng Xiaogang, I Am Not Madame Bovary
Lav Diaz, The Woman Who Left

Best Actor
Michael Hui, Godspeed
Gong Yoo, Train to Busan
Asano Tadanobu, Harmonium
Fan Wei, Mr. No Problem
Richie Jen, Trivisa

Best Actress
Son Ye-jin, The Last Princess
Fan Bingbing, I Am Not Madame Bovary
Haru Kuroki, A Bride for Rip Van Winkle
Kara Wai, Happiness
Charo Santos-Concio, The Woman Who Left

Best Supporting Actor
Jun Kunimura, The Wailing
Ma Dong-seok, Train to Busan
Ayano Go, Rage
Dong Chengpeng/Da Peng, I Am Not Madame Bovary
Lam Suet, Trivisa

Best Supporting Actress
Elaine Jin, Mad World
Moon So-ri, The Handmaiden
Maeda Atsuko, The Mohican Comes Home
Shabana Azmi, Neerja
Lynn Xiong, See You Tomorrow

You can return to the main News page, or press the Back button on your browser.